Class Eligibility

To be a member of the class you must have been Avis Preferred Service Program, rented a vehicle in the United States through www.avis.com between July 14, 2005 and June 14, 2012, and paid an FTP Surcharge for receiving frequent-flyer miles from any of Avis’s travel partners.

You also qualify for settlement benefits if you were a member of the Budget Rapid Rez with Fastbreak Program, rented a vehicle in the United States through www.budget.com between November 27, 2006 and February 17, 2013, and paid an FTP Surcharge for receiving frequent-flyer miles from any of Budget’s travel partners. The members will be able to receive one or more discounts on future vehicle rentals from Avis or Budget through www.avis.com and , or a cash payment.

Estimated Amount

Up to $129 cash or up to 100 vouchers good for 10%

Proof of Purchase

Yes

Case Name

Schwartz v. Avis Rent A Car Sys., LLC, 11 Civ. 4032 (D.N.J.), and Klein v. Budget Rent A Car Sys., Inc., 12 Civ. 7300
Case No. 2:11-cv-04052-JLL_JAD
District Court of the district of New Jersey

Case Summary

According to the documents of the lawsuit Avis and Budget improperly charged FTP Surcharges to members of the Avis Preferred Service Program and the Budget Rapid Rewards with Fastbreak Program when customers made reservations in programs that provided frequent flier miles

Per the settlement documents the defendants violated the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act

The defendant denies the allegations but has agreed to settle to avoid the uncertainty and expenses associated to a long trial.

Settlement Pool

N/A

Deadline

07/05/2016

Contact


Avis Budget Surcharge Settlement
c/o GCG
P.O. Box 10263
Dublin, OH 43017-5763
Toll-Free: 1 (866) 584-6178
Info@AvisBudgetSurchargeSettlement.com

8 responses to “Avis & Budget Surcharge Class Action Settlement”

  1. Michael Perry says:

    I enter from Budget in February, 2016 for 3 weeks. Do I Qualify for the rebate?

    ADMIN – Hi Michael,

    Per the terms of the settlement the qualifying dates are July 14, 2005 though June 14, 2012. Based on this information I am afraid you don’t qualify.

  2. Denise Bradley says:

    I rented from Budget in Beaumont Texas from April 2009 to September 2009. Would I qualify?

    ADMIN – Hi Denise,

    If you were a member of the Avis Preferred Service Program, rented a vehicle in the United States through http://www.avis.com between July 14, 2005 and June 14, 2012, and paid an FTP Surcharge for receiving frequent-flyer miles from any of Avis’s travel partners.

  3. Holly Watson says:

    What kind of receipt? who keeps receipts from four years ago? Proof…how?

    ADMIN – Hi Holly,

    I believe Avis and Budget keep a rental history of their clients. Give them a call.

  4. Dolores A Olvera says:

    I have rented in laredo texas and california
    mi mail address is 3108 bennington dr pasadena texas 77503

    ADMIN – Hi Dolores,

    Please become familiar with the ways to file a claim. Leaving your address here does not make you a participating member of the class.

  5. Julia wood says:

    I filed the claim documents for the Avis suit and have not heard anything. My Avis # is Z3R93E. Please let me know that you have my paperwork and what the status is. Thank you.

    ADMIN – Hi Julia,

    At Class Action Rebates we inform you about settlements but we do not handle most of the administration. I encourage to contact the class action administrator to ask about the status of your claim. Simply scroll up to locate their contact info.

  6. Maurizio Cerri says:

    Hello,
    I filed my claim on 3/12/2016. AVIS claim #1755CBF638. But, since then I moved to a new address and have a different phone #. How do I update such information?
    Thank you

    ADMIN – Hi Maurizio,

    You can send a letter to the class action administrator making reference to your claim number and including your old and new information.

  7. Jim says:

    I have tried to reach them via phone for two days and get a constant busy signal. Is this case still pending or alive?

    ADMIN – Hi Jim,

    This case was resolved and paid out long time ago. The administration has now closed.

  8. Larry (Lawrence) Shall says:

    I filed a claim under the deadline but I haven’t heard anything since

    ADMIN – Hi Larry,

    This settlement was paid out many months ago. You no longer have recourse.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *